Home News 26-Year-Old Youth Corps, Three Other Women Make Kwara’s Cabinet List

26-Year-Old Youth Corps, Three Other Women Make Kwara’s Cabinet List


26-Year-Old Youth Corps, Three Other Women Make Kwara’s Cabinet List

Twenty-six-year old Joana Nnazua Kolo from Edu Local Government Area and three other women were among commissioner-nominees whose names were forwarded to the House of Assembly by AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, the Kwara State governor, on Tuesday.

This was contained in a statement made available by Rafiu Ajakaye, Chief Press Secretary to the governor.

According to the statement, Governor AbdulRazaq also nominated a former Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the FBN Mortgages Limited, a subsidiary of the First Bank of Nigeria, Mrs. Folashade Omoniyi, as the new chairperson of the Kwara State Internal Revenue Service (KW-IRS).She would succeed Prof. Murtala Awodun whose tenure expires soon.

Omoniyi, who holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree from the University of Ilorin and Master of Business Administration degree from the Obafemi Awolowo University, has many years of leadership experience in the banking sector, marketing, information communication technology, and business management.Omoniyi is from Irepodun Local Government Area of the state.

On her part, Miss Kolo, the youngest commissioner-nominee in the state’s history, is a 2018 graduate of Library Science from the Kwara State University (KWASU). A grassroots mobiliser, Miss Kolo is an ardent advocate of community development.

If confirmed, she would be Nigeria’s youngest commissioner, taking the trophy from Oyo State’s 27-year-old Oluwaseun Fakorede.

Miss Kolo is still serving her National Youths Service programme in Jigawa, where she is teaching at Model Boarding Junior Secondary School, Guri.

Her screening for the cabinet seat would hold after she rounds off her NYSC service in the next two weeks.
The three other nominees are professionals and grassroots politicians: Mrs Sa’adatu Modibbo-Kawu; Arinola Fatimoh Lawal, and Aisha Ahman Pategi, according to a correspondence AbdulRazaq forwarded to the House and read at the Tuesday plenary by the Speaker, Rt. Honourable Salihu Yakubu Danladi.

A 1997 graduate of Economics from the Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Mrs. Modibbo-Kawu also holds Masters in Business Administration from the University of Ilorin.
She is married to the Director-General of the National Broadcasting Commission, Ishaq Modibbo-Kawu, and will be representing Ilorin South in the cabinet if her nomination scales through the House of Assembly.

Arinola Fatimoh Lawal, a 1993 graduate of Catering and Hotel Management from the Kwara State Polytechnic, is a top-rated player in Nigeria’s hospitality industry with experience as chief executive officer of several firms, including Batool Nigeria Limited, Mohbalamira Nigeria Limited, and MirMira Enterprise.

Hajia Lawal, who was a member of the Kwara State Transition Committee in 2019, is a daughter of former Kwara State governor, Mohammed Lawal, from Ilorin East Local Government Area.

Her skills cover project management, tourism and hospitality, change management, and risk management.

(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here